About Us : Overview : Meet the Director

Michael Irwin, M.D.
holds the Norman Cousins Chair for Psychoneuroimmunology at the UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine, and is Director of the Cousins Center for Psychoneuroimmunology at the UCLA Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior. He is also Professor of Psychology at UCLA, Director of the UCLA Training Program in Psychoneuroimmunology and Mental Health, Past-Chair of the UCLA Collaborative Centers for Integrative Medicine, and member of the Advisory Board of the UCLA Center on Aging as well as the UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center. Working in the area of psychoneuroimmunology for nearly two decades, he has authored more than 190 articles and chapters, including one book Human Psychoneuroimmunology. His research is broadly based on the interactions between behavior and immunity, with an emphasis on the consequences of major depression on immune processes relevant to infectious disease risk as well as inflammatory disorders. More recently, Dr. Irwin and his colleagues has studied the immunologic and health consequences of insomnia, with

evaluation of the reciprocal links between inflammatory cytokines and disordered sleep in clinical populations. His present research program also includes investigations examining the capacity of mind-body interventions to improve insomnia with consequences for inflammatory mechanisms and viral specific immunity in older adults and in cancer survivors. Dr. Irwin is Past President of the Psychoneuroimmunology Research Society and of the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research, and a Fellow in the American Psychiatric Association and the American College of Psychiatrists. He is an Associate Editor of Brain, Behavior, and Immunity and serves on the Editorial Board of Psychosomatic Medicine and with past appointments on the NIMH Mental Health and AIDS Initial Review Group, and the Advisory Council to the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine. In 2005, he was the recipient of the Faculty Research Mentor Award from the Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Science at the David Geffen School of Medicine.